CALVERT CITY – For several years, Jay Nimmo and Tyler Powell pushed each other as friends and teammates on the golf course.

On Tuesday, they did it again.

Nimmo, after shooting a 4-under 68 at the Calvert City Country Club, was crowned for the second season in a row the First Region boys’ champion. Powell was three shots behind, finishing as the First Region runner-up.

Both, for consecutive seasons, are members of the region’s team champion for the Marshals, who shot a 289 – 30 shots ahead of McCracken County.

“This is seven straight years that we’ve been on a team (together),” said Nimmo, who is committed to golf at Mississippi State when his high-school career concludes next year. “It’s always been back-and-forth. I want to beat him. He wants to beat me. It’s a lot of fun just pushing each other.”

For Powell, who is committed to golf at Murray State, the final round of the year against regional opponents was, he said, his best.

“I was hitting the ball way better than I had all year,” Powell said.

And, the Marshals were getting production down the line, too.

“Marshall County, we’re not done yet,” Powell said. “Trey, Preston and my little brother, they’re going to carry them and hopefully go to state more after we leave.”

Marshals coach Keith Bell was pleased with the round his entire team put together on its home course.

“As a team, when you have Jay and Tyler do what they do, really the key was having your No. 3, Cam (Camdyn McLeod) shoot a 74 and No. 4 (Trey Wall) shoot a 76, it’s going to be a great day when you shoot those scores,” Bell said.

There was, certainly, some disappointment for the Mustangs, who will, as a team, remain home from the state tournament – one of 16 teams across the state that, despite a runner-up finish, are mandated out of the state tournament for the first time, beginning this year.

Still, McCracken’s No. 1, senior Connor Kirkham, will be in Bowling Green as an individual after shooting a 5-over 77.

“I didn’t play well today,” he said. “The last five holes, I fell apart. I just couldn’t play golf the last five holes. I barely made it to state. I think it’s a shame that one team gets to go to state as a team this year. I thought we’d be able to go. I totally forgot about the whole rule thing.”

First-year McCracken coach Chris Gregory said he was proud of the effort his team put forth.

“My guys, they put together some really good rounds,” Gregory said. “They had a few holes on the back-side that stepped in and got them a little bit. It would’ve been great if some of those holes didn’t get them. I thought they played well. They fought hard and tried their best. There’s not a whole lot more I can ask of them. A 319, finishing second, is still pretty good. Unfortunately, this year, it doesn’t get you there.

“I am extremely happy with how Connor has played this fall. He’s really played well. Sometimes, your senior year isn’t always the easiest year to play golf. It seems like everything weighs a little bit more. He’s got a good mentality toward things. He plays well and really tries to put things in perspective as he plays. He doesn’t let a whole lot get to him. It’s a good thing he didn’t, because he had some tough holes coming in here. Had he let those get to him the way they could have, it could’ve been a totally different outcome, as far as him going to state is concerned.”

First Region Boys’ Golf Championship Results (top four individual scores count toward overall team score)

*- denotes individual state qualifier

Marshall County, 289

Jay Nimmo 68

Tyler Powell 71

Camdyn McLeod 74

Trey Wall 76

Preston Futrell 81

McCracken County, 319

Connor Kirkham 77*

Garrett Rikel 79

Tyler Dew 80

Camryn Beatty 83

Walker McNeill 84

St. Mary, 328

Rocco Zakutney 76*

Peyton Purvis 76*

Palmer Sims 88

Luke Wilson 88

Cade Fleming 89

Trigg County, 329

Grayson Thomas*

Hunter Reynolds 82

Trey Carr 82

Ty Butts 87

Dallas Ahart 94

Murray, 336

Brogan Welsh 80

Jack Epperson 83

Grant Whitaker 84

Blake Newsome 89

Jonah Morgan 100

Hickman County, 337

Tyler Abernathy 77*

Jackson Midyett 83

Dylan Hicks 85

Witt Bell 92

Gavyn Walker 105

Crittenden County, 350

Sammy Greenwell 74*

Landen Crider 84

Jeremiah Foster 90

Evan Belt 102

Avery Belt 112

Calloway County, 358

Ty Gallimore 74*

Tanner Crouch 93

Chandler Steele 95

Cade Butler 96

Caleb Tickner 105

Paducah Tilghman, 363

Michael Sanders 89

Jack Butts 91

Aidan Hahn 91

A.J. Armstrong 92

Sammy Lambert 93

Carlisle County, 375

Reese Anderson 93

Zack Miller 93

Blake Elder 94

Daven McGee 95

Kannon Bowles 99

Livingston Central, 375

Zach Fleet 79

Darit Barnes 85

Gage Cossey 97

Davin Grant 114

Machi Davidson 116

Christian Fellowship, 395

Andrew Dunning 88

Hayden Engler 99

Drew Cary 107

Beau Wilson 111

Bryce Cary 126

Graves County, 400

Kobe Allen 85

Maddux O’Guinn 93

Wyatt Gills 107

Grant Phillips 115

Lukin Rogers 123

Individual competitors (in order of score)

Kesean Galbreath (Mayfield), 82

Austin Crick (Caldwell County), 98

Ian Lucy (Fulton County), 129

Sam Gibbs (Fulton County), 133

Andrew Watson (Mayfield), DQ-Scorecard Error

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.