Thank you for visiting Paducahsun.com, online home of The Paducah Sun.

June 2012
27 28 29 30 31 01 02

Click here to submit an event.

Independence Bank awards scholarships totaling $82,250

Staff report

Independence Bank awarded a record amount of $85,250 to area high school seniors within its service area at a scholarship reception March 26. Ten students were chosen as finalists and awarded the Maurice E. Reisz $500 Scholarship.

The 10 chosen were also competing for the Charles A. Reid $10,000 Scholarship, the Ernie & Martine Davis $3,000 Scholarship and eight Ernie & Martine Davis $500 Scholarships. Out of the $85,250 that was awarded, $22,250 of that included 15 Independence Bank community board scholarships.

The 10 finalists were Gabriella Cipolla, Greenwood High School; Cain Cooper, Henderson County High School; Laura Hunter, Apollo High School; Ashley Miller, McLean County High School; Jonathan Oldham, Madisonville North Hopkins High School; Janzten Sparks, Murray High School; Brittany Stone, Hancock County High School; Alexander Story, Paducah Tilghman High School; William Thomas, Apollo High School; and Bayley Ranes, Webster County High School.

The Charles A. Reid $10,000 Scholarship went to Jonathan Oldham from Madisonville North Hopkins. The Ernie & Martine Davis $3,000 Scholarship winner was William Thomas from Apollo High School. The recipients of the eight Ernie & Martine Davis $500 Scholarships were Gabriella Cipolla, Cain Cooper, Laura Hunter, Ashley Miller, Janzten Sparks, Brittany Stone, Alexander Story and Bayley Ranes.

Brittany Burress of Murray High School and Destiny Wendling of Calloway County High School each received a $1,000 Calloway County community board scholarship.

Five students from Murray High School each received a $1,000 Independence Bank Kick for Cash Scholarship based on a successful field goal attempt last fall. They were: Paxton James, Adam Stubblefield, Preston Merriss, Carver Lawson and Adam Clark.

Sarah Smith and Natalie Stewart, both of Apollo High School each received a $3,000 Daviess County community board scholarship.

Corbin Cunningham of Hancock County High School was the recipient of the Hancock community board $1,500 scholarship.

Cain Cooper of Henderson County High School was the recipient of the Henderson community board $2,500 scholarship.

Julia Borders of Madisonville North Hopkins High School was the recipient of the Hopkins County community board $1,000 scholarship.

Lilly Burba of Paducah Tilghman High School received $1,500 and Alexandria Montgomery of McCracken High School received a $1,000 McCracken County community board scholarship.

Taylor Higgs and Lacy Rojewski of McLean County High School each received a $500 McLean County community board scholarship. Kaylee Ranburger, also of McLean County High School received a $1,000 McLean County community board scholarship.

Deborah Young of Warren East High School was presented the $3,250 Warren County community board scholarship.

Baylee Van Winkle of Webster County High School received the $500 scholarship and Sarah Steely of Webster County High School received the $1,000 scholarship on behalf of the Webster County community board.

Kaitlyn Neal of Webster County High School received the $1,000 Tommy & Bonita Chandler Scholarship.

Jessica Murch of Henderson County High School was the winner of the $5,000 Independence Bank Agriculture scholarship. This scholarship was intended for a student from an agriculture background pursuing an agricultural degree.

Finalist Janzten Sparks of Murray High School was awarded the $5,000 Independence Bank Chairman's Scholarship.

Whitney Galloway of Owensboro High School was awarded the Marjorie Reid $10,000 scholarship that is for a child or grandchild of an Independence Bank employee or director.

New this year was the $10,000 Maurice E. Reisz Memorial Scholarship that was awarded to Hannah Turner of Warren East High School. Reisz was a co-founder of Independence Bank and served as chairman of the Independence Bank board. He was also a pharmacist in Daviess County. The Maurice E. Reisz Memorial Scholarship was for a student pursuing a pharmacy degree.

Also given for the first time was the Guy Reisz Memorial $10,000 Scholarship, which was awarded to Patrick Ruby of Daviess County High School. Guy Reisz served as n Independence Bank board of director. The Guy Reisz Memorial Scholarship was intended for a student attending Kentucky Wesleyan College in Owensboro.

The Independence Bank Scholarship Program is designed to encourage high school seniors in the bank's nine-county service areas of Calloway, Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins, McLean, McCracken, Warren and Webster counties to continue their education. Applicants were judged based on high school grades, ACT/SAT scores, essays and personal interviews. Since 2001, Independence Bank has awarded $486,050 in college scholarships to area high school seniors.

Comments made about this article - 0 Total

Comment on this article

Your comment has been submitted for approval
captcha 43e69c86d51e424194c083fd073c6dec
Top Classifieds
  • WANTED - outfits for female Shih-Tzu ... Details

Most Popular
  1. Paducah 'star' tops fundraising record
  2. College kids unable to answer basic questions about America
  3. Left, right descend into tribalism
  1. Planned retail project won't include Kroger
  2. Seizure of meth leads to 2 arrests
  3. Dancing With Our Stars
  1. White House creates office to utilize ideas from business
  2. Dancing With Our Stars
  3. Paducah 'star' tops fundraising record

Check out these recently discussed stories and voice your opinion...